Skip to content
Tags

, ,

Listening to music on the web

16/02/2012

In work I’ve a 40G Hard drive that holds a lot of my music that I would listen to regularly. However since I was outsourced I now have to use 2 laptops on a small desk and there are wires everywhere and it really wrecks my (limited) sense of order. A colleague told me about a website called grooveshark.com that allowed you to upload music and more importantly listen to music other people have uploaded.
In the last week however it has switched to a subscription service looking for $4 a month. I was tempted to pay it as I use it a lot, however I decided to do a quick search for “websites like grooveshark”. It threw up a load of them, the first few I tried like last.fm were also subscription. I was going to go back to grooveshark and pay my few bob when I saw Pandora and remembered that years ago that I had listened to it.  It also remembered me and had music I’d been listening all those years ago lined up and ready to play after I went to it!  (Mental note to self clean up cookies)
It’s free. Happy days! Even better it allows you to build a personal radio station based on your preferences. So I put in the Chemical Brothers and the prodigy and it starts playing you music that it thinks is similar. You can then click like or dislike and it further hones its selection for you. You can even ask it why it played this tune for you and it tells you why.
It has just played I Remember by Kaskade & Deadmau5 and when I asked why, it said the following –
“Based on what you’ve told us so far, we’re playing this track because it features house roots, four-on-the-floor beats, beats made for dancing, straight drum beats and a laid back female vocal.”
It’s like it’s in me head 🙂 Anyway Pandora gets the bonstechblog seal of approval.  I can’t for the life of me think why I left it all those years ago.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

