Skip to content

can’t login to linux box

24/02/2012

Some of the servers in work keep refusing to let me in.  I would get one of my colleagues to reset my password and it still wouldn’t work.  I eventually had to delete my user and create a new one.  All would be fine for a while and then it would happen again!  Today I figured out what it was.  I must’ve been entering the wrong password too many times and it would lock it.

I don’t know where the lock is kept because I’m sure I would’ve checked the /etc/shadow file to see if that was the case.  Anyhoo to extricate yourself from that issue faillog -r <username> is your only man.  You have to be root to use it.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

